BIOGRAPHY

BIO_1_edited.jpg

French clarinetist, Arthur Stockel, has established himself as a passionate and eclectic musician through his virtuosic and multifaceted career as a soloist, chamber musician, and orchestral player. Appointed principal clarinet of the Orchestre Philharmonique du Luxembourg at the age of 21, he has already proven himself one of the leading classical musicians of his generation. 

Winner of the first prize at the prestigious Ghent International Competition in 2022, Arthur showcases the diversity of his instrument through programming a wide variety of styles, while also enjoying the subtleties of lyricism and the vocal qualities of the clarinet. He has soloed with the Orchestre des Lauréats du Conservatoire among others and has performed solo recitals around Europe. In 2018 he was the recipient of a career grant from the Safran Foundation. 

 

Arthur is an accomplished orchestral musician, having received his training in the Gustav Mahler JungendOrchester and the Mahler Chamber Orchestra Academy. He has played under the baton of such conductors as Daniel Harding, Valery Gergiev, Antonio Pappano, and Vladimir Jurowski. He was invited to play as principal clarinet with Gianandrea Noseda and the London Symphony Orchestra on their 2019 European tour and is a regular guest with such ensembles as the Orchestre de Paris and the Marinski Theater Orchestra among others.

 

Sought out as a chamber musician of sensitivity and generosity, Arthur has performed at Kent Nagano’s chamber music festival in Hamburg and Michel Strauss’ Musique de chambre à Giverny. Notably, he performed Messiaen’s Quartet for the End of Time at the Royal Albert Hall in London for the centennial of the Armistice in November 2018. Mr. Stockel was also a founding member of Oct’Opus, an octet composed of string and woodwind players. Works performed by the group were arranged by Arthur for the ensemble, including classical favorites and jazz standards.

  

Mr. Stockel is deeply interested in creating pieces and building relationships across genres. After spending the summer of 2020 in the underground jazz jam sessions of Paris, he conceived a project to bring together his new love of jazz and his classical roots. The finished product is a piece called Bewitched composed through the collaboration of jazz and classical composers. The work was recorded by a combination of jazz and classical musicians and introduces an exciting new sound world, the first of many such collaborations, led by Arthur.

 

Born and raised in a family of musicians, Arthur started playing the clarinet at the age of 7, studying with Guy Egler then with Alain Toiron at the Colmar Conservatory. Receiving a diploma in bass clarinet performance from Regional Paris Conservatory (CRR), he earned his bachelor and master’s degrees in clarinet performance from the Paris Conservatory (CNSMDP) under the tutelage of Pascal Moraguès, graduating with the highest honors. He has recently been admitted to the Masters program at the prestigious Hochschule für Musik Hanns Eisler in Berlin to continue his studies with Martin Spangenberg. 

BIO_1_edited.jpg

Partners

Vandoren Logo blanc.png
Logo_BC_2016_edited.png

BIOGRAPHIE

BIO_1_edited.jpg

Le clarinettiste français Arthur Stockel s'est établi comme un musicien passionné et éclectique à travers sa carrière virtuose et multiforme en tant que soliste, chambriste et musicien d'orchestre. Nommé clarinette solo de l'Orchestre Philharmonique du Luxembourg à l'âge de 21 ans, il se démarque déjà, par sa curiosité et sa passion, comme un des grands musiciens de sa génération.

Lauréat du premier prix du prestigieux Concours International de Gand en 2022, Arthur met en valeur la diversité de son instrument en programmant une grande variété de styles, tout en profitant des subtilités du lyrisme et des qualités vocales de la clarinette. Ce concours va ainsi l'amener à jouer en soliste à travers l'Europe.

 

Arthur est un musicien d'orchestre accompli, ayant reçu sa formation au Gustav Mahler JungendOrchester et à la Mahler Chamber Orchestra Academy. Il a joué sous la baguette de chefs tels que Daniel Harding, Valery Gergiev, Antonio Pappano et Vladimir Jurowski. Il a été invité à jouer en tant que clarinette solo avec Gianandrea Noseda et le London Symphony Orchestra lors de leur tournée européenne 2019 et est un invité régulier avec des ensembles tels que l'Orchestre de Paris et le Marinski Theatre Orchestra, entre autres.

 

Recherché comme chambriste sensible et généreux, Arthur s'est produit au festival de musique de chambre de Kent Nagano à Hambourg et à la Musique de chambre à Giverny de Michel Strauss. Il a notamment interprété le Quatuor pour la fin du temps de Messiaen au Royal Albert Hall de Londres à l'occasion du centenaire de l'Armistice en novembre 2018. M. Stockel était également membre fondateur d'Oct'Opus, un octet composé d'instrumentistes à cordes et à vent. Les œuvres interprétées par le groupe ont été arrangées entre autres par Arthur pour l'ensemble, y compris les œuvres classiques bien connues et les standards de jazz. 

 

M. Stockel est profondément impliqué par la création de pièces et l'établissement de relations entre les genres. Après avoir passé l'été 2020 dans les jam sessions de jazz de Paris, il a conçu un projet pour réunir son nouvel amour du jazz et ses racines classiques. Le produit fini est une œuvre intitulée Bewitched composée grâce à la collaboration entre les compositeurs de jazz et de classique. L'œuvre a été enregistrée par une combinaison de musiciens de jazz et de musique classique et présente un nouveau monde sonore passionnant, la première de nombreuses collaborations de ce type, dirigées par Arthur.

 

Né et élevé dans une famille de musiciens, Arthur commence la clarinette à l'âge de 7 ans auprès de Guy Egler puis en étudiant avec Alain Toiron au Conservatoire de Colmar. Diplômé en interprétation de clarinette basse du Conservatoire régional de Paris (CRR), il obtient sa licence et son Masters en clarinette du Conservatoire de Paris (CNSMDP) dans la classe de Pascal Moraguès avec les félicitations. Il a récemment été admis au programme de Master de la prestigieuse Hochschule für Musik Hanns Eisler à Berlin pour poursuivre ses études avec Martin Spangenberg.

BIO_1_edited.jpg

Partenaires

Vandoren Logo blanc.png
Logo_BC_2016_edited.png